The Cold Air Intake Kit

 

The previous owners removed the stock air box and installed a high flow air filter at the end of the stock pipe which sucked all the heated engine air and had no performance benefit. I ordered a MAC cold air intake kit from http://latemodelrestoration.com for $144.95. Here are some pictures of it now. It was a pain in the ass to get the air filter into the fender well and then snap the rings of the filter neck over the heat shield but other than that it was simple and I pulled it off in about 15 minutes.

clip_image002

I guess I will have to coordinate all the under hood colors to be blue now.

clip_image004

If you can read the label on this it has the manufacturer information and model number.

clip_image006

This is the filthy engine bay.

clip_image008

This is the best place to pull air from.

clip_image010

Here is my top mechanic. Without him this install would have been a disaster.

 

By the way all the photos on my blogs are taken with a 12 megapixel camera but Spaces obviously shrinks them so if you are interested in getting the high resolution images just message me and tell me which ones you would like and where to send them. I will eventually stop being lazy and search for a way to display them somewhere in their full glory and link the thumbnails to them but until then just give me a shout. I’m always open to suggestions, I don’t know it all and I’m hungry for suggestions. Thanks.

TOTAL SPENT: $3,675.36 + $144.95 = $3,820.31

TOTAL SPENT OVER COST OF VEHICLE ($2,600.00): $1,220.31

TOTAL WEIGHT: 2,827 POUNDS

TOTAL WEIGHT DIFFERENCE FROM STOCK (2,827 POUNDS): 0

Leave a comment