Losing Some Weight on the Front End

 

As you can see by the photos the front of the Mustang has suffered some abuse over the last 21 years and the fog lights were no exception.

clip_image002

The night before the Summit Point, WV event I decided to remove the fog lights because they were so busted and I figured it would save a few pounds. Little did I know there was quite a bit more weight up there in the nose of that GT lip. After removing the fog lights I realized that there was a heavy steel bar that reinforced the lip and the lights mounted on. The combined weight that I pulled from the front totaled 21 pounds.

clip_image004

Also there is an added bonus, more air flow! As you can see in the picture the tires are plainly visible through the hole where the fog lights once were.

clip_image006

I also decided to remove the speakers that the previous owner had rigged in the rear. They were some boom box speakers that had been spliced into the wiring and were flying all over the place. LOL, I wish I had taken a picture of those speakers. I lost another 5.8 pounds back there for a total of 26.8 pounds total.

TOTAL SPENT: $3,826.31

TOTAL SPENT OVER COST OF VEHICLE ($2,600.00): $1,226.31

TOTAL WEIGHT: 2,772 POUNDS – 27 POUNDS = 2,745 POUNDS

TOTAL WEIGHT DIFFERENCE FROM STOCK (2,827 POUNDS): -82

Leave a comment